Anthony HopkinsCineCine terrorCulturaLiteraturaNewsNovelaPelĂ­culas

In what order to watch Hannibal Lecter films?

In what order to watch Hannibal Lecter films?

We review the chronological order to follow the history of the famous films about the sinister Hannibal Lecter, as well as his television series.

Fans of the film thriller will remember The Silence of the Lambs as one of the most influential films of the genre, a 1991 film based on the novels by Thomas Harris about the sinister Doctor Hannibal Lecter, played by the famous actor Anthony Hopkins. Not surprisingly, this adaptation managed to win up to five Oscars for best film, best director and main cast. But Hannibal Lecter’s universe goes far beyond The Silence of the Lambs; That is why we offer you the chronological order of all the film adaptations based on such a famous character, including television series.

In what order to watch the Hannibal Lecter films

So much so, that the Oscar-winning film starring Anthony Hopkins and Jodie Foster was not the first adaptation of that universe, since Hunter (Manhunter) was released in 1986 by Michael Mann, an adaptation of the early Hannibal Lecter in the that a policeman pursues an elusive murderer who strikes only on nights with a full moon. Already in 2002, The Red Dragon, a prequel to the Hopkins film, was released, although a year before Hannibal, a sequel to it, reached theaters.

In what order to watch Hannibal Lecter films?

In addition, in 2007 Hannibal was released: the origin of evil, a prequel to all the previous ones in which he delves into the childhood of a young Hannibal Lecter. As we can see, there are five films that cover different time lines intermixed with each other, which makes it necessary to order them chronologically to enjoy their history without losing the thread. Nor do we want to ignore the 2013 Hannibal series starring Mads Mikkelsen and in which the police resort to Lecter’s help to catch another murderer, although this is another story.

Chronological order of Hannibal Lecter films

  • Hannibal: Dawn of Evil (2007)
  • Hunter (Manhunter) (1986)
  • The Red Dragon (2002)
  • The Silence of the Lambs (1991)
  • Hannibal (2001)
  • About author

    Chris Watson is a gaming expert and writer. He has loved video games since childhood and has been writing about them for over 15 years. Chris has worked for major gaming magazines where he reviewed new games and wrote strategy guides. He started his own gaming website to share insider tips and in-depth commentary about his favorite games. When he's not gaming or writing, Chris enjoys travel and hiking. His passion is helping other gamers master new games.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *